Sunday, March 7, 2010

The Crazieess with No One buut my CRAZIIIIESSS :)

Okay, so clearly as I dodge the idea of closing my lights and being subjected to darkness or shall we say nightmares of the horror film I was subjected to today, I escape to write hoping it will allow me to get the images currently in my head OUT, so I can possibly sleep tonight....

So after months and months of being tortured by the threat of being tied down to a couch to watch a scary movie with all my girlies, I cracked and agreed to venture into the theatre with them today to watch "The Crazies". While initially I was told it was a movie that was basically the girl version of the hangover and JUST had to be seen with all of us together, I quickly realized after seeing the preview that clearly the main characters in this movie were NOT in Vegas anymore. How bad could it be I wondered?!?!?! I mean, I did sit through all the chucky movies at one point in my life and saw a list of some other scary movies sooo why not, right!?!?!

I am pretty sure I had no idea what I had gotten myself into, but then the lights went out and the movie came on and as I sat there sandwiched between all my girls waiting to get a laugh outta my reactions, I realized there was REAAALLLY NO WAY OUT!!!!! So there I was huddled behind my jacket, heart in my stomach and DRIPPPING sweat on my palms, and all the while as I watched I wondered...WHY THE HELL DO PEOPLE LIKE THESE DAMN MOVIES?!?!?!

Its almost like a roller coaster when you think about it, no?!?! LIKE who loves the feeling of their stomach being in their head??!!? Much the same way of your heart beating soo hard from anxiety you may throw up or start screaming like a complete and utter maniac?!?! And further to that, when did killing people with pitchforks and chainsaws suddenly become an escape from reality!?! I thought movies were suppose to be a nice break from reality not something that made you scared to live your own damn life...

So through all my complaining I did manage to survive, and while I did manage to get a good laugh outta my girls and had a great time with them...I don't think I will be getting early tickets to the remake on nightmare on elm street which will likely make me NEVER WANT TO SLEEP AGAIN...

Sooo as I close, I ask again, why do people like these movies?!?!?!!?

Here's to hoping I manage to sleeep peacefully tonight :S

-A

4 comments:

  1. SINCE WHEN DID WATCHING WHAT WE CALL HORROR MOVIES BECOME "SCARY'.
    I CANT BELIEVE YOU EVENTUALLY SAT DOWN TO ONE, OF COURSE I BET IF YOU HAD BEEN TOLD THE TRUTH ABOUT WHAT TO EXPECT, YOU WOULD HAVE CHICKENED OUT! NOT SO? SO ALWAYS TOLD ME YOU DIDN'T LIKE MOVIES OF THAT SORT, THOUGH I THINK ONCE IN A WHILE YOU SHOULD SIT DOWN TO THEM, OMG, IT REMINDED ME WHEN WE WERE WATCHING DEVIL'S ADVOCATE AT FLAVORS, AND YOU WERE SCARED THAT YOU WOULD BE HAVING NIGHTMARES FROM SOME OF THE SCENES IN THE MOVIE. IN ORDER TO ESCAPE THEM, JUST WATCH THEM MORE, YEAH....................GO FOR IT GIRL,
    EMMA UG

    ReplyDelete
  2. This post cracked me up!! I could totally imagine (and relate to) you watching a scary movie! I'm not sure how the feeling of discomfort and fear equals enjoyment but somehow it does! My friend watched the Japanese version of 'The Ring' and was convinced that it was directed by someone with serious issuse.. hehe.. With you not sleeping and me avoiding my basement for a month, I say we stick to chick flicks, tissues for the sappy moments, and frozen hot chocolate from Serendipity! xo jfo

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm pretty sure i now walk into the public bathrooms at my client site and check every unlocked stall before going into one...I also must admit that I question singing in my car in fear that "someone" can see, hear and quickly grab me and tape my mouth shut...lol..

    and btw emma, IT WAS SOO MUCH WORSE THEN THAT MOVIE..i could totally have lasted now that i think of it, sigh...flavours, how i miss theee...lol

    ReplyDelete
  4. ps. JFO, I AM TOTALLY WITH YOU on the chick flicks, tissues for sappy movies and frozen heart chocolate from serendipity :) XOXOXO

    ReplyDelete