Soo i won't lie that I had started reading this book the Power of Now, last week...which is likely better for all of you, since the first week of reading and realizing the commitment I had to make was the hardest and likely the most emotional of it all....
Soo now that I have dealt with some of the emotions, I am thinking a lot clearer and definately feeling a lot more focused. This book talks about how the past and future are all this illusion, meaning the idea of "time" is an illusion and that all that really matters is the present moment, which we never really enjoy becuase it every minute of everyday we are never just thinking of NOW, but rather of whats to come or what came before. And becuase we are soo focused on these two idea's of the past and future we never really just take each moment in and enjoy or experience them....
I don't know how much I believe you can totally just live in the moment and never think of the future but as I skimmed forward a bit I realized that he gets to the idea of practical vs. psychological aspects of time...mhmm I can't wait :S
Okay getting back to this idea of living in the moment, he talks about the idea of focusing and always thinking about what you are doing and the means essentially to the end. So for example from the moment you get up in the morning you begin thinking of the stresses of the day to come and he says to stop that and instead focus on the idea of making it into the office. I mean since the idea of getting up and getting ready is to get to that end point the office. Its similar to the idea of climbing a flight of stairs and instead of thinking what comes after you get to the top, you only focus on getting to the top...
Sooooo I am trying this idea out, and I am positive this will cause for some laughs as people attempt to visualize just how crazie I must look, lol. Okay soo i am a victim to waking up first thing in the morning and having my mind already racing, so now I am attempting to do what the book says, stay focused, think of the idea of a means to an end.
So, this morning I get up...focus as I get ready and end up spending more then usual since I am concentrating so hard... I finally leave the house and drive to the subway station, get outta my car and begin the treck to the subway platform. Now all I am thinking is "MUST GET TO OFFICE"...soo there is nothing relaxed about my approach instead I am staring straight into some empty idea of the office and rushing through everything to get there..soo in the process, I trip over my own foot (DONT ASK!) and almost go tumbling down the steps, save myself just in time to run down the steps and miss a couple and almost fall flat on my ass...get into the subway and manage to find a seat...get out at Union and rush through the crowd, which involves getting my bag stuck in the exit door to the subway, walking into a wall almost, knocking over a trash can as I try to squeeze through a group of VERYYY SLOOOW WALKING MEN, and then again trip going up the stairs and nearly fall down the flight of stairs...SERIOUSLY...LIKE SERIOUSLY ...FML...lol
I get into the office and sit down, take a breath and do a body scan...one big ass bruise on my arm and one on my leg..this is day 2 and already I have decided that besides this book being packed with me everyday, I need to pack a first aid kit as well...
off to heal my wounds & prepare for day 3
- A
No comments:
Post a Comment